• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why won't my crt monitor die?

Advertise Here

I have a crt monitor from the 90s that I've been using for 10 years now. It came with a computer I bought at a pawn shop.

I'd like to replace the monitor with an lcd screen. But don't want too spend the money until this old crt goes.

CRT works fine. Seems like it's gonna live forever. lol

I'd sell it or even just give it away if someone wanted it. Does anyone want these things anymore?

I don't want to throw it in the landfill when it's still working.
Those crts "Cathode Ray Tube" TV's and monitors are pretty trusty. I had an lc monitor that came with my first new computer and the lcd died within 4 years.

I still have lots of crt monitors that I've pulled out of dumpsters or people have dropped off for me. And they're from the 90s as well.

Still working fine and show no signs of kicking the bucket.

I use crt monitors mainly with my old windows xp computer to watch youtube and other videos on.

I don't like them anymore for browsing the web. But for watching videos or viewing pictures the monitors are okay.

The one I'm currently using has some dirt or something that seems to be embedded in a scratch on the screen and I can't get it out. But I'm not concerned about it at all.

It's just in the lower corner of the screen.

I picked up a flat screen crt tv from the dumpster today. I saw a guy throw it in there and after throwing it in the dumpster it still works great.

It's only a 2005 model. I like crts for tvs better. But for viewing the web I like lcd's.

I've got plenty of crt tvs and monitors to tie me over. They might last me the rest of my life.

I see no reason to throw it out if it's still working. And I'm glad I saw that guy throwing that tv away today and could save it from the landfill.

It's a waste to throw it out if it's still working. It's hard to give them away today as not many people want them.